Day 5: Sun, Moon, and My Shining Stars!

Date: February 16, 2023

By: Shaylee Marr

Today was an amazing day within the classroom! This week, my MT and I decided that it would be a good idea for me to start getting in front of the class a little bit more in order to be prepared for my lesson next week. When coming into classroom, my heart almost burst when I saw that the students had placed little valentine’s gifts on my desk from the previous day. After getting set up at my desk, the day began as normal with the MT asking the students to complete the given bellringer. As the day continued, when the phonetics lesson began, the MT suggested that I did the sounds portion. With this portion of the lesson, the students listen to me say a word. For example, I might say, “Say meat.” and the students will repeat me. Then I would say something like, “Now remove the m, what is the word?” and the students will say, “eat”. this would continue for a few different words.

Soon after the lesson concluded, the students went to lunch. After returning, the students were able to complete their math lesson which consisted of quiz. The students have quizzes that are broken up into several different days, on this day, the students completed the first 2 pages of the quiz which consisted of seperating the numbers into the tens and ones columns. In this quiz, the students also replaced different numbers from the tens and ones columns to create a full number. After the students completed their math quiz, the MT thought it to be a good time to have me teach a mini lesson in the classroom to prepare me for my following lesson for next week. For my lesson next week, I decided to do something that is related my lesson so I did an introduction activity to the sun, moon and stars. Within this lesson, I introduced these by creating a powerpoint, asking the students what they knew about the three. I also had the students do a worksheet with 3 boxes and I had them write a fact about the sun, moon, and stars and draw correlated pictures in the boxes. After they finished this activity, I had the students use pipe cleaner and glow in the dark stars to create their own constellation of their choosing. I really enjoyed this activity because it still built on hte students of constellations and their fine motor skills with stringing beads and bending the pipe cleaner in the right way.

When doing this lesson and interacting with the students, I enjoyed myself a lot and so did the students. From this lesson, I feel much more prepared to be in front of the class when I begin my evaluate lesson next week. I also feel more confident in my skill and ability with being with the same students for more than 5 weeks now. My next goal is to be able to fully remember my lesson without taking little pauses to complete the given task. I also would like to ensure that I am speaking ot the students so they are not getting off task as often. I can not wait until next week when I am able to demonstrate my abilities within the classroom through this lesson!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *